Scoil Bhríde is a voluntary secondary school. It is a CEIST school.CEIST is built on the founding vision of  five Congregations, including the Sisters of Mercy.  The Trustees of CEIST have delegated the conduct, management and financial administration of our school to the Board of Management.

Together with Scoil Bhríde’s school community, the Board affirms and supports the educational philosophy of the Sisters of Mercy and the right of our Trustees to determine the ethos and characteristic spirit of our school, consistent with our Founder’s intentions.  The Board is accountable to the Trustees in this regard.

The Board promises to manage the affairs of Scoil Bhríde, Mercy Secondary School on behalf of the Trustees for the benefit of our students and their parents and to provide an appropriate education for each student at our school. [Education Act s15.]

The Board of Management consists of eight persons appointed by the Trustees.  The Trustees nominate four members.  Two parents / legal guardians of students currently in the school are elected by the parents / legal guardians.  All permanent full-time teachers on the staff elect two teachers.  The term of office for each member of the board is three years.

The Board delegates to our Principal, Mr. Gearóid Leen and Deputy Principal, Ms. Catherine Murphy, the day to day administration of our school.

The Board undertakes to lead the school management teams, staff, students and parents in the ongoing development of our Whole School Plan.

The Board may be contacted (in writing please) to:   The Secretary, Board of Management, Scoil Bhríde, Mercy Secondary School, Tuam, Co. Galway.

Board of Management 2019 – 2022


CEIST Nominees:

Siobhan Quinn (Chairperson)

Sr Mary Corr

Sr Teresa Nolan

Albert Comer


Teacher Nominees:

Orla Casby

Deirdre Connaughton


Parent Nominees:

Emer Lavin

Colette Lydon